Oliewenhuis Art Museum

The Oliewenhuis Art Museum is located in Bloemfontein, the capital of the Free State province and the judicial capital of the country. Opened in 1989 in a building that used to serve as the residence of the Governor-General of the Union of South Africa, the Oliewenhuis Art Museum is still a relatively young museum. The collection features work of early South African artists, and includes works by Thomas Baines, Jan Ernst Volschenk, Pieter Wenning, Jacob Hendrik Pierneef and Willem Coetzer. The Museum is still in the fortunate position to be able to continually expand its collection of contemporary South African art. The Art Museum forms part of the Bloemfontein Museum group, and is a declared national cultural institution.

Key people:
Ester le Roux (Curator)

Physical address:
16 Harry Smith Street
Free State
South Africa

Postal Address:
P O Box 266
South Africa

T: +27 (0)51 447 9609
F: +27 (0)51 447 9283
E: oliewen@nasmus.co.za

This map is initiated by VANSA - the Visual Arts Network of South Africa with the support of the Mondriaan Foundation