University of Pretoria Department of Visual Arts

Pretoria, Lynnwood Road and Roper Street

The Department of Visual Arts offers students an environment where they can study various aspects of the visual image and visual culture, from their creation to the way in which they are interpreted and used by society. The Department offers two practical degrees, namely Fine Arts and Information Design, as well as a theory degree in Visual Studies that focuses on art history and visual culture.

A core staff of designers, fine artists and art historians is supported by a large number of specialist part-time lecturers, artists and designers, exposing students to the expertise and stimulation of leading practitioners and academics.

The activities of the Department are located in a number of main buildings on the main campus. In addition to large studios, there are individual studios for senior students, computer laboratories, photographic darkrooms, printmaking and sculpture facilities, as well as seminar and lecture rooms.

The Department offers a multidisciplinary environment within which one can explore their creativity and stretch intellectual boundaries. Courses are offered in under- and postgraduate degree packages and modules in Art History, Fine Arts, Information Design, Visual Communication and Visual Studies up to doctoral level.

Professor Jeanne van Eeden (Head of School), Professor Elfriede Dreyer (Head of Fine Arts), Prof Amanda Du Preez (Head of Visual Studies), Fatima Cassim (Head of Information Design), Prof Lize Kriel, Sakie Seoka, Nicola Grobler, Pieter Swanepoel, Jenni Lauwrens, Dr Duncan Reyburn, Rory du Plessis, Anneli Bowie, Dana Scott, Suzette Snyman, Core Contract People:, Diane Victor, Celia de Villiers, Guy Du Toit, Joao Ladeira, Sikho Siyotula, Magdel Fourie, Leana van der Merwe, Frikkie Eksteen, Karen Mentz

Corner of Lynnwood Road and Roper Street
South Africa

University of Pretoria Department of Visual Arts
University of Pretoria
Lynnwood Road
Private bag X20 Hatfield
Pretoria 002